Tradition, relief and flavour

Want to find out about the entire production process?
Play the video!

Tradition, relief and flavour:

a timeline of the success story

Grether’s Pastilles were first mentioned in 1850 and have had a remarkable history. The pastilles were first made from blackberry juice in England in the 19th century. The London-based family business Allen & Hanbury Ltd. laid the foundations for a long pastille tradition – with a recipe that was used as successfully then as it is now in the production of throat pastilles. 

With attention to detail and the highest Swiss quality

Since the 1930s, the traditional Allenburys throat pastilles have been distributed by Doetsch Grether AG. The complex production process based on the original recipe from 1850 has taken place in a factory in Altnau on the shore of Lake Constance since 1974. In an idyllic location in the Swiss canton of Thurgau, employees work with passion and attention to detail, using high-quality pure natural ingredients, to produce the well-known and popular pastilles bearing the Grether’s Pastilles name. Some ingredients are not suitable for mass production, which is why several production steps are still carried out by hand to this day. The gentle and careful processing of the high-quality ingredients can be felt and tasted in every single pastille.

Carefully selected

natural ingredients...

The essences of sun-ripened berries and blossoms, effective glycerine and high-quality agar-agar are what make Grether’s Pastilles so unique. In no other pastille is so much time invested in the production – the pastilles have to rest for three whole months before they can be consumed.

The gelling agent agar-agar, which makes them so smooth, is obtained from red sea algae and is not suitable for mass production. It is soaked for several hours and then boiled along with the other ingredients. The liquid fruit mixture then needs to settle, so that all of the air bubbles can escape. Only the amount required for daily production is used.

...are gently prepared

with great craftsmanship...

Grether’s Pastilles are produced using specialised production facilities, and in part by hand, with the aid of extensive expertise, plenty of experience, passion and tradition, all based on the original recipe from 1850. To shape the pastilles, specially made wooden boxes are filled with moulded maize starch, into which the pastille mixture is then poured. During the maturing stage, the maize starch absorbs excess moisture from the pastilles. 

...and stored for three whole months

in climatic chambers.

Grether’s Pastilles are matured for three whole months in temperature-controlled climatic chambers. As with fine wines, this maturing or ageing allows them to develop their unmistakeably exquisite taste with its intense fruitiness and special consistency. A touch of beeswax and vegetable oil seals the surface of every single pastille and gives them their distinctive gloss. After one last quality control, the pastilles, with their typical GP emblem, are sorted into the classic gold tins, where they continue to mature until their soothing pleasure is to be enjoyed.

Retailer search

Grether's Pastilles

Tradition, bienfaits et goût Histoire d'une réussite

Vous souhaitez découvrir l'intégralité du processus de fabrication?
Cliquez sur Lecture!

Tradition, bienfaits et goût

Histoire d'une réussite

Les Grether’s Pastilles sont pour la première fois mentionnées en 1850 et ont une histoire remarquable. L'origine des pastilles au jus de cassis remonte au XIXe siècle, en Angleterre. La fabrique familiale londonienne Allen & Hanburry Ltd. pose les fondements d'une longue tradition, avec une recette utilisée aujourd'hui encore avec succès pour la fabrication des pastilles pour la gorge. 

Avec un grand amour du détail et la plus haute qualité suisse

Depuis les années 1930, la société Doetsch Grether AG distribue les pastilles pour la gorge Allenburys riches de tradition. La fabrication exigeante selon la recette originale de 1850 a lieu depuis 1974 dans une manufacture à Altnau, sur les rives du lac de Constance. C'est dans un cadre idyllique, dans le canton suisse de Thurgovie, que les collaborateurs œuvrent, avec passion et amour du détail, à la fabrication à partir d'ingrédients naturels de haute qualité des Grether’s Pastilles tant appréciées. Certains ingrédients ne permettant pas de production de masse et diverses étapes de la production sont aujourd'hui encore effectuées à la main. Le grand soin apporté à la transformation des ingrédients de haute qualité se retrouve dans chaque pastille.

Des ingrédients naturels

soigneusement sélectionnés ...

Les Grether’s Pastilles puisent leur originalité dans des essences de baies et fleurs gorgées de soleil, de la glycérine active et un agar-agar de haute qualité. Jamais autant de temps n’a été investi dans la fabrication de pastilles: ces dernières doivent reposer pendant trois mois complets avant de pouvoir être consommées.

Le gélifiant agar-agar qui leur confère leur consistance si douce est issu de l'algue marine rouge et ne permet pas de production de masse. Il est mis à tremper pendant des heures et des heures, puis cuit avec les autres ingrédients. La pâte de fruits liquide doit ensuite retomber pour que toutes les bulles d’air puissent s’échapper. Seule la quantité de pâte nécessaire à la production quotidienne est préparée.

... sont préparés avec précaution

et beaucoup de travail à la main...

Les Grether’s Pastilles sont fabriquées d'après la recette originale de 1850 avec un riche savoir-faire et beaucoup d'expérience, de passion et de respect de la tradition au moyen d'installations de production spéciales et en partie à la main. Pour le moulage des pastilles, des caisses en bois spécialement conçues à cet effet sont remplies d'amidon de maïs modelé, puis la pâte y est versée. Pendant la phase de maturation, l’amidon de maïs absorbe l’excès d’humidité des pastilles. 

... et stockés pendant trois longs

mois dans des chambres climatisées.

Les Grether’s Pastilles mûrissent pendant trois mois complets dans des chambres climatisées. Comme les bons vins, c’est ainsi qu'elles développent leur goût d'une finesse incomparable, leur fruité intense et leur consistance si particulière. Chaque pastille est enrobée d’un soupçon de cire d’abeille et d’huile végétale qui lui donnent sa brillance unique. Après un dernier contrôle qualité, les pastilles triées intègrent leur noble boîte dorée portant le traditionnel emblème GP. C'est là qu'elles finissent de mûrir en toute tranquillité avant de livrer leurs bienfaits.

Recherche de revendeur

Grether's Pastilles